GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

1952 Cape Cod

FrankFulton | Posted in Plans Review on

Hello,

First-time poster. In the past 2 months, I’ve read a hundred or so GBA articles and comment threads; I’ve been amazed by the expertise and generosity of the community. I’ve also read extensively at buildingscience and finehomebuilding — I’m new to but very interested in building science. Here’s why:

BUILDING BACKGROUND
We just purchased our first free-standing home, a large 1952 Cape on a great piece of property in Maryland (CZ 4). There is too much humidity in the house (inside fountain, which we will remove.) The house is need of air sealing and insulation throughout. (Previous owners did not update air sealing or insulation over 20+ years of ownership.) There are two vented, uninsulated basement crawl spaces. Energy audit/blower door found 4400 sqft of conditioned space and leakage of 7330 cfm50.The HVAC is currently 24 yo oil (no natural gas available in neighborhood) with central air (2 zones, one unit 1994 and one 2015). The smooth front roof is slate, has 2×6 boards as roof deck, and has 5-10 years of life left. The rear roof (2 walkout dormers) is mostly slate; this roof deck has been updated to plywood. Both of these roofs are vented with gable vents – no ridge vent. There is also a rear flat roof over an addition, w/EPDM and poor insulation. Other than these issues, the house is a model of green efficiency!

FULL DETAIL BELOW
After reading feedback provided to other posters, I’m including full detail on multiple aspects below.

REQUEST FOR FEEDBACK