GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Question on direct vent fireplaces

user-6954517 | Posted in Green Products and Materials on

I am gut renovating and expanding a circa 1920 cottage. I am trying to get as close to net zero as I can. I am an architect fairly well-versed in the principles and techniques of net-zero, DER and Passivhaus my firm having designed and built two Passivhaus and 13 net zero homes, all of which have had their performance measured and verified. The point of this bragg-y credentializing is to head off the inevitable finger wagging that usually comes upon mention of the very idea of including a fireplace in a home that aspires to net zero. I get it. Not a good idea. Point is, I know it is not a good idea to have a fireplace of any type if you’re primary goal is energy efficiency and indoor air quality. But for several reasons – one of which I am married to – its gonna happen. So my simple question is this: Are there any specific brands and models of direct vent, sealed combustion, gas fireplace units that folks have experience with to look for or to avoid from the standpoint of infiltration or exfiltration, and are there any techniques – besides the obvious air sealing measures – that others have taken to ensure they are not an energy suck and a health hazard?

I feel this question has broad relevance because although a wider and wider swath of the home buying public cares about energy efficiency, they balk at being told they simply can’t have things they want. Most of my clients want a fireplace. As further proof, a quick perusal of Houzz will show you that very few living rooms do not have a fireplace as their focal point. So its a problem to solve for all of us, even if some of us think the very idea is silly, if not morally wrong. 🙂

GBA Prime