GBA Logo horizontal Facebook LinkedIn Email Pinterest Twitter X Instagram YouTube Icon Navigation Search Icon Main Search Icon Video Play Icon Plus Icon Minus Icon Picture icon Hamburger Icon Close Icon Sorted

Community and Q&A

Residential frost-protected shallow foundation in central Mass.

kjginma | Posted in Building Code Questions on

We are planning to provide a monolithic pour frost-protected shallow foundation (FPSF) for a single story 1300 sq ft 2 bedroom home in central MA. Air Freezing Index is 2000. I have read through many different case studies, research papers, codes, etc and there is a bit of conflicting and locale-specific info so I am looking to see whether I understand what is required here. I am a newbie owner-builder. Any constructive criticism would be appreciated, but I don’t want to foment any religious wars.

Grade/Fill We are on a few percent slope, so we plan to excavate to subsoil then back fill with appropriate compacted materials (per R403.3) about three feet so we sit above natural grade at the highest point. Adding this much material is expensive and mitigates some of the low-impact of the FPSF, but it needs doing. Still looking for a structural engineer for various sign offs.